My Psoriasis act two: Successful treatment

This is a follow up to my post of  “I. Hate. Psoriasis!”.  Starting about Sept. 1 of 2011 I had a severe psoriasis flare up. As I noted in the previous post, the above photo is of my back taken Nov. 2, 2011.  I have a before and after comparison of that time.

b4 and after 200 res dates copy

(Click on photo to enlarge)

The one on the left was taken Nov. 02, 2011.  The one on the right was taken Aug. 5, 2012.  I took it at that point in time simply to demonstrate that the remission of my psoriasis was complete.  The only reason I had any photos of this time was that I could not really tell what was going on with my back, so I set up my camera to take a short video and from that video, I pulled off the still on the left.

Now for the present.  (9/28/2015).  Starting about on the 1st of July, my psoriasis again started to flare up.  As you might be able to tell from the first photo taken 7/13/15, it started as guttate.  A lot of small red spots starting at first under my arms on my sides and on the inside of my arms.  It spread from there like wildfire.

backs upper quad 8 31 2015 resz

(Click on photo to enlarge)

The photo is showing that my back has cleared up mostly.  There is still some problems across the top of my shoulders and along my sides on the rib cage under my arms.  But, put simply, it was a lot, lot better than what it was even a short two weeks prior.  The one following is a most recent showing that it is gone and things are looking good.

back 9 28 15 red

(Click on photo to enlarge)

This time the worst of my problems seemed to be with my legs from a little above my knees down.

legs combo red jpeg

(Click on photo to enlarge)

left leg 2 9 28 15 red

(Click on photo to enlarge)

I had problems with my knees and my ankles swelling.  The last time, my legs and feet were the last to clear, so it does not surprise me that it is taking longer.  However, last time it was seven months over all.  This time it is about half the time.  Three months instead of seven.

There is still a little bit of scaling around my ankles and across the tops of my feet.  Nothing at all like even two weeks ago, however.  The swelling is gone and most of the inflammation as well.

I am posting this update because too many times, I have read what people propose to do, or how they did something, but with nothing to show what was going on as time passed.  I am not going to go into all the gory details, but I do hope to give a good, solid idea of what is happening.  It ain’t pretty.  It itched like crazy.  My swollen calves and ankles were painful.  The constant shedding of skin got old.

My treatment protocol (taken once in the morning after waking up and then again in the evening before bed unless noted otherwise.):

Fish, Flax, Borage oil (Omega 3,6,9).  I usually buy at Walmart.  Walgreen carries it as well.  1 gram gelcaps.

Evening Primrose oil.  Also 1 gram capsule. Avail @ Walmart and Walgreens.

Milk thistle.  250 mg capsules. Avail @ Walmart and Walgreens.

Vitamin D3.  5000 IU & 2000 IU.  (Total of 7000 IU taken twice a day for a total of 14000 IU.) Avail @ Walmart and Walgreens.

Resveratrol.  500 mg. Avail @ Walmart and Walgreens.

Luteolin.  100 mg.  Purchased from Swanson Vitamins.

( http://www.swansonvitamins.com/ )

Quercetain and Bromelain.  500 mg & 156 mg. Also from Swansons.  I am sure other places carry as well.

In addition I often took an Advil capsule and an Allegra 180 at bed time.  The antihistamine helped me be able to sleep as it knocked back the itching pretty well and the ibuprofen just seemed to help some.

This go around, what seemed to make the most difference was the increased level of Vitamin D3.  The Resveratrol, Luteolin and Quercetin knocked back the Guttate psoriasis almost immediately and it seemed to really help reduce the amount of skin coming off.  If you will note in the pictures, there is very little actual plaque psoriasis.  The luteolin and the Quercetin sure seemed to work wonders in that aspect.  Recovery, however, really did not seem to take off until I doubled the Vitamin D3 from 7000 IU to 14000 IU.

I upped my dosage after reading this study: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3897595/

A pilot study assessing the effect of prolonged administration of high daily doses of vitamin D on the clinical course of vitiligo and psoriasis

… Nine patients with psoriasis and 16 patients with vitiligo received vitamin D3 35,000 IU once daily for six months …

If 35000 IU was administered daily for six months, I felt that 14000 should work out okay.  As soon as I started that, the amount of inflammation and flaking skin began to rapidly diminish.  I started taking the luteolin and the quercetain the 25th of July.  So, if you look at the difference between the 23rd and that of Aug 22, you can see the difference it made.  I doubled the Vitamin D3 on Sept. 1.

Some may ask why I didn’t give up and go to conventional treatment.  There are several reasons.  Quite frankly I have not read anywhere of conventional treatment results as effective as what I have achieved here.  The majority of the conventional treatments have side effects that are less that desirable, if they even work.  And there are problems with the expensive “Biologic” drugs losing effectiveness after a period of time.  https://www.psoriasis.org/advance/researchers-examine-why-biologics-stop-working

Considering how expensive they are (I was told about $20K per year for Humira when I went to see a dermatologist the first go around) and often they are only effective for a fixed period of time, I don’t see much sense to taking them.  My regimen is not all that expensive, the components are all substances which are either not harmful or else have beneficial use to them; they can be taken for reasons other than medical and there is not a one which has documented adverse side effects.  Show me any psoriasis treatment for which that can be said.

Now that the worse of this blow up is over, I will go to a maintenance level of taking these items.  I’ll drop the advil and the allegra.  I will probably go with the omega 3,6,9 and the milk thistle, 7000 IU of Vitamin D3 and alternate the resveratrol with the Quercetin & Bromelain once a day.

Now the first time this happened, it could be argued that the psoriasis went into remission on its own.  That is possible and I really could not necessarily claim otherwise, other than to point out it is not all that common for it to do that, especially as bad as my case was.  This second time, however, shows there really could be something to the way I have been dealing with this problem and the way it cleared up much more quickly speaks wonders.

3 thoughts on “My Psoriasis act two: Successful treatment

  1. Pingback: I. HATE. PSORIASIS! | wyoskeptic

  2. Pingback: My Psoriasis: routine update 2-3-2016 | wyoskeptic

  3. Pingback: It’s BAAAAAACCCCCCKKKK. Psoriasis update 6/15/2016 | wyoskeptic

Leave a Reply

