Another Localized Chart about warming temps

There is such an uproar about 2014 being a hot year.  Well, we’ll see, but I don’t really think so.

I have put together a chart that uses data from NCDIC and RSS for the Continental US.  The data I have is both anomaly data, with the RSS downloaded from here:

http://images.remss.com/msu/msu_time_series.html

I just set for continental, full series and TLT (Temp Lower Troposphere)  and downloaded the data.

For the NCDC data:

http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/cag/

This is the Climate at a glance.  I set it up as follows:

NCDC set up Climate at a Glance

(Right click and open in a new tab to see enlarged version.)

Down below the plot button is a button where you can select to download the data in CSV format.  I downloaded at put into Xcell.

Now to be honest, I don’t put a whole lot of faith in the NCDC data and I haven’t for some time.  But that is part of why I wanted to look at it compared to the RSS data.

The COOP data I got from here:

http://www.wrcc.dri.edu/cgi-bin/cliMAIN.pl?wy3855

It is the average choice under the listing of Monthly temperature listings.  (About half way down on the left hand side.)

Now I just wanted to see how my location compared to the Continental US data, especially the RSS data.  So, for years I chose 1979 – 2013.  Once we are through 2014, I will probably update.

Now, the RSS data is in Kelvins, so I converted both the NCDC and the COOP data into Kelvins from Farenheit.  I used the NCDC base period of 1895 to 2000 to develop the anomaly and for the COOP data, I used the average of the years from ’79 to ’13.

So here is the graph:

RSS vs NCDC vs COOP

 (Right click and open in a new tab to see enlarged version.)

Now what I find interesting about this is that up until about 1998 the RSS and NCDC do correlate fairly close with the NCDC running consistently above RSS.  But just look at the way NCDC climbs above and stays above after that.  Interesting, is it not?

Now, the COOP data shows the effect of where I live has on the Temp swings.  You can say the highs are higher, at times and the lows are usually a fair bit lower!  (But that is to be expected.  The elevation here is almost 4500 ft.  And there is little water to do any moderating or alleviating of the temps.)  I think it is pretty safe to say that the temps here run on the cooler side of the Continental average.

Also, if you look, the COOP data is showing a steeper rise in the trend line.  But if you will look, most of that is because of the cold winters in ‘82,84,85,88,93 and 96.  ’93 was an especially bad one here.  And I also do remember very well the blizzard of ’84.  (Burned out the clutch in my pickup right at the start of that ‘un.)

Oh, by the way, I have a cross check on the COOP data by way of Airport data gotten from Weather Underground for this time period.  The  AVGs from WU and from the COOP data match close enough that it amazes me.

But what I can pretty well say that 2014 is really going to have to go some to beat 2012, near as I can tell.  My graph that compares 2013 and 2014 to the long term average is showing that 2014 is just pretty much average for around here.  The average Max and average Min is from the coop data from the location above.  2013 and 2014 data is taken from the yearly data I have downloaded from Weather Underground.

nov 2014 updated chart(Right click and open in a new tab to see enlarged version.)

But we’ll see how it works out for the full year.  And we’ll see how the cotton pickin’ warmistas try to spin it into overdrive.

Leave a Reply

